//
 
 

 
 


Wellness Dog Food Reviews, Recalls and Coupons 2013

 

 
Overview
 

Brief Overview: Behind Wellness is a team of nutritionists, vets, and animal lovers working tirelessly to create the best natural nutrition for pets. Wellness is known for providing high quality dog food made with natural, wholesome ingredients only. Manufactured by WellPet LLC, Wellness aims to provide the kind of nutrition dogs need to live a happier, healthier, and longer life.
 
Has this dog food brand been recalled?: According to FDA’s Pet Food Recall Products List, Wellness has issued a couple of voluntary recalls in the past two years. In 2011, Wellness issued a voluntary recall on various kinds of canned cat food because they contained less than adequate amounts of thiamine. In October 2012, Wellness announced a voluntary recall of a small batch of Wellness Small Breed Adult Health Dry Dog Food with a “Best By” date of August 18, 2013 because that batch was found to be higher in moisture than usual.
 
Coupons: Wellness can be found pretty much in any pet supply store, but be sure to grab some free coupons first! We have some free printable Wellness dog food coupons right here on this page.
 


4
Posted March 16, 2013 by

 
Full Article
 
 

Wellness Recipes

Based upon the quality of its ingredients, Wellness Core Dog Food looks like an above-average kibble. – Mike Sagman

Wellness offers dry dog food and canned dog food that come in three different types of recipes: Super5Mix (the right balance of protein, fat, and carbohydrates), CORE (grain-free and made of naturally raised meat), and Simple (easily digestible with limited ingredients for food sensitivities). Wellness adamantly follows the philosophy that less is always more, so they make a point to only include natural wholesome ingredients fit for human consumption.

In Wellness dog food, you would never find meat byproducts, animal fats, corn, wheat, soy, hormones, steroids, or artificial products. Wellness uses only whole grains, natural meat, and fresh fruits and vegetables.

Want 10% off your next Wellness Dog Food bag, AND delivered to your house for FREE? If so check out this deal.

Wellness separates recipes into the following groups:

Dry Dog Recipes

  • Complete Health
  • Small Breed
  • Grain-free
  • Allergy

Wet Recipes

  • Complete Health
  • Chunks & Gravy
  • Grain-free
  • Allergy
  • Mixers & Toppers

Dog Snacks

  • Petite Treats
  • WellBars
  • WellBites
  • Pure Rewards
  • Just for Puppy Treats

Ingredients

wellness dog food review

One of the most important aspects of any type of food is that you are aware of the ingredients, and especially the things that you need to look out for to make sure that the food that you are buying is of high quality.

We provide you with an analysis of one or two Wellness dog food products to not only highlight how to properly review the ingredients, but also to rate the quality of those samples.

The following analysis is for Wellness’s Core Grain-free Original Formula (dry dog food).

Top 15 ingredients

  1. Deboned Turkey
  2. Turkey Meal
  3. Chicken Meal
  4. Peas
  5. Potatoes
  6. Dried Ground Potatoes
  7. Chicken Fat
  8. Tomato Pomace
  9. Chicken Liver
  10. Natural Chicken Flavor
  11. Ground Flaxseed
  12. Salmon Oil
  13. Carrots
  14. Sweet Potatoes
  15. Kale

Controversial ingredients

  1. Tomato Pomace is the only controversial ingredient that you find in the product. It is a by-product after processing tomatoes into products such as juice, soup or ketchup. Some consider the product a cheap filler for pet food, while others praise it for its high fiber and nutrient content. Since it is listed on position 8, it is very likely that it does not make much of a difference in this particular product anyway.

Guaranteed Analysis

  • Crude Protein (min): 34%
  • Crude Fat (min): 16%
  • Crude Fiber (max): 4%
  • Moisture (max): 10%
  • Calcium (max): 2%
  • Phosphorus (min): 1.4%
  • Vitamin E (min): 400 IU/kg
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids (min): 3.25%
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids (min): 0.50%
  • Glucosamine (min): 250 mg/kg
  • Chondroitin Sulfate (min): 200 mg/kg
  • Beta-Carotene (min): 5 mg/kg

Wellness Core dog food uses a significant amount of good meats as source for animal protein. The protein to fat ratio is quite good as well and that is why we can wholeheartedly recommend the product.

Wellness Reviews

Wellness is very big on grain-free diets. One of their more popular formulas is the CORE Grain-Free Original Formula. It’s made of deboned turkey, turkey meal, chicken meal, and other gluten-free ingredients. It includes antioxidants, omega fatty acids, glucosamine, and probiotics. We took an in-depth look at the CORE Grain-Free Original Formula based on its ingredients and nutritional value. Here are the results.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]


Ingredient Quality
Grain Content
Meat Content
Availibility
Cost
Rating: 10.0/10 (3 votes cast)

Here are a list of Wellness Dog Food Resources:

  1. Manufacturer home page: http://www.wellnesspetfood.com/index.aspx
  2. Wellness Dog Food Coupons: http://petmoz.com/dogfoodcoupons/wellness
  3. Wellness Dog Food Recalls: http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/newpetfoodrecalls/brand_list.cfm?Trade_Name=Wellness&pet=Cat

 


4 Comments


  1.  
    Peter

    I feed my dog Wellness Core because its grain free and is made with human grade quality ingredients. I like it, he likes it. Its one of the best dry dog foods available. He looks great, is healthier than a …………….. average dog (and probably most horses), and is the envy of all my dog owning friends because of his coat, energy and overall appearance.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)



  2.  
    Kei

    My dogs eat Wellness Core Small Breed and they are very healthy now. Before Wellness they had dry, flaky skin and their bowels were always upset. Now they are more regular and are very stable and they’re very healthy too, our vet always compliments us. I highly recommend it. I compared many brands and tried a lot of them and the dogs only liked this one. I like that it is high protein and low fat, with joint supplements added. It actually makes an ideal weight loss food if you remember to portion it properly!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)



  3.  
    Peter

    I love it. More importantly, so does my Boston Terrier. With human quality ingredients and being grain free it scores among the highest available brands. Now that Petsmart and Petco have started carrying higher quality brands, including several grain free dry dog foods, including Wellness Core, its a lot easier to find. Te only other food rated as good that is still only sold in specialty stores is Orejin.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)



  4.  
    Peter Bergman

    I love it. More importantly, so does my Boston Terrier. With human quality ingredients and being grain free it scores among the highest available brands. Now that Petsmart and Petco have started carrying higher quality brands, including several grain free dry dog foods, including Wellness Core, its a lot easier to find. Te only other food rated as good that is still only sold in specialty stores is Orejin.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)




Leave a Response

(required)